Many Scars

Published on by julia's story

Multiple Sclerosis can be defined as Many Scars, since it often leaves numerous lesions in the brain and/or spinal cord.   This chronic autoimmune disease often surfaces during the prime of your life--between the ages of twenty and forty.   It is specific to each person, but most people share one commonality: the sensitivity to heat and humidity.  thermometer.jpg
 
The past couple of weeks have been very trying for me, due to the elevated temperatures and high percentages of humidity in North Jersey.  For me, h & h, as I like to call them, are the MS symptoms that affect me most.  I experience a swelling of my abdomen and right leg, move a whole lot slower, lose balance and coordination, and cannot write or type. 
 
Needless to say, there are times I just want to lay in bed and sleep, cry, or both.  But, if there's one thing I am, it is that I am a fighter, and moving on is what I do best.  During moments when bad thoughts enter my mind and I say, I don't want to live like this, or, This is not living, I admonish myself and think of the child that never had the chance to walk.
 
Feeling chagrined, I ask God for forgiveness, and a Bible verse comes to mind that helps me overcome my circumstance.  It is in the first book of Corinthians, Chapter 10, Verse 13: "No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it."  And faithful He is, when having removed myself from the problem, I begin to feel better as I focus on the countless blessings in my life.
 
ms-cane.jpgI don't know why God allows some of us to have specific illnesses, but I do know that everything that happens in our lives, whether good or bad, eventually turns out for the better.  Therefore, I will be still and remember that He is God, and He is in control of my life, not me.  That being said, I look forward to the day that I can run like I did when I led the platoon runs in the military, and I anticipate the moment when I will once again, not only wear heels, but dance in them as well.
 
In the midst of your trials, simply answer the question that Jesus asked Peter, Who do you say that I am
 
 
 
Matthew 16:15  He said to them, "But who do you say i am?"
 
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
H
Julia, you are such an amazing person; I admire you - your loving personality & strength throughout this is remarkable. You're always on the go , never feeling sorry for yourself and has more<br /> energy than I do. Hence the reason I always ask " how do you do it" so much energy :-)<br /> <br /> Wishing u all the best . Love U.
Reply
J
Hi Julia. I didn't know that you were suffering from M.S. I have a friend who suffers from this debilitating condition. You are a very brave woman who leads her life with amazing courage and<br /> dignity.<br /> <br /> You will continue to be in my thoughts and prayers. Jean xx
Reply
D
Hija,estoy orgullosa de ti como estas pasando por este proceso.La fe en el Senor te ha mantenido y te mantendra siempre,sigue adelante que al final del tunel veras la Gloria de Dios.El articulo<br /> bello cada dia escribes mejor Bendicione.Te quiero mucho.
Reply
M
You will always be a fighter, and I am proud to have you as my friend.
Reply
J
Julia,<br /> This article is INCREDIBLE, and so inspirational. It is so well written, and informative, that I have read it over and over again.<br /> You NEVER cease to amaze me, and I think you are the most beautiful person on the planet, inside and out. GOD bless you. Mia, and all your family!<br /> <br /> Sincerely,<br /> Joe Primerano
Reply