Fifteen

Published on by julia's story


 
     I remember when birthday parties for my daughter had special guests in attendance like Barney, Winnie the Pooh, and Barbie, when trick-or-treating meant I'd be Minnie Mouse for three years in a row (I even had the yellow shoes!), Princess Ariel, and Santa Claus.  Through malls and safe neighborhoods, I'd hold hands with Elmo, Snow White, or Kim Possible, and watch my daughter's eyes gleam as her basket filled with yummy treats.   
 
     It seems that only yesterday she was five years old. 
     Somehow, and definitely without my consent, we have fast forwarded to the age of fifteen and are discussing plans for her birthday party.   
 
     extra-2139.JPG "Mom, how about the range?" she asks.
 
      "Sure.' I answer, glad that my military and law enforcement background have piqued her interest.  "Just make sure all the parents are cool with it."
 
      Two weeks later, after ironing out the details with Jimmy Grammenos,extra-2005.JPG Instructor and Event Coordinator at Gun For Hire, a premier indoor shooting range in Woodland Park, New Jersey, I enter it with a half dozen teenagers.  The girls are awed as they see the large quantity of firearms available to rent from the gun library.  
 
      Jimmy warmly introduces us to "Big L" and Ed, our instructors for the day, who lead the way to a classroom where we learn about gun safety.
 
      Then it's time for the good stuff!
 
      We enter the fifty yard shooting range and are met by booms and pops.  Some of the girls jump, others show apprehension.  
 
      "Relax.  It's okay." I say.
 
     After the range safety officers' thorough instruction, the girls take extra 2141turns shooting handguns: revolvers and nines, and rifles: AR 15s and M 22s.  Before you know it, their confidence increases, and they no longer fear weapons or the sounds they make.  Instead, they volunteer to shoot again, and again.  The lesson has been learned: Do not fear firearms rather, respect them.   
     We are ready to leave but before walking out the door, there is one last stop: The Rifle Camp Cafe, where pizza, paninis, soda and chips feed ravenous appetites over incessant conversation and loud laughter.   
 
     Indeed, much time has passed since cupcakes and candy corn! 
 
     Happy 15th Birthday!
extra-2138.JPG
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
L
Great post full of useful tips! My site is fairly new and I am also having a hard time getting my readers to leave comments. Analytics shows they are coming to the site but I have a feeling “nobody wants to be first”.
Reply
A
Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained!
Reply
O
Thank's to information
Reply
D
Lindas memorias de cuando mi querida nieta era una nina,ahora me parece mentira que ya tenga 15 y como han cambiado los gustos,estoy orgullosa de ella y de mi hija,se que pasaron un feliz<br /> cumpleano.Dios me la bendiga y le conceda todas las peticiones de su Corazon.y a Julia p[or la gren labor que esta hacienda.Las amo con todo mi Corazon
Reply